Nephi Anderson, Deseret Industries, and Making the Most Out of a Ten Dollar Bill

I bought this today for ten bucks at the Provo DI.

John St. John is my least favorite Nephi Anderson book, but I figured that owning a first edition of any Anderson book that isn’t Added Upon would be pretty cool. (Heck, I’d be okay with owning a first edition of Added Upon too.)

The neat thing is that I got to use it as a visual aid as I spoke briefly about Anderson and my research to John Bennion’s “Literature of the LDS” class at BYU today. About a week ago, I emailed Dr. Bennion to see if I could sit in on his class an observe how he teaches Mormon lit to Mormon students–and he graciously assented. It was an interesting contrast to my own experiences teaching Mormon lit at the University of Cincinnati. Someday, I’d like to have a chance to teach a class with students like Dr. Bennion’s.

Tomorrow is my last day in the archives. I have a lot of copying still to do. I’m also going to pay a visit to a few significant Anderson sites around town.

One thought on “Nephi Anderson, Deseret Industries, and Making the Most Out of a Ten Dollar Bill”

Leave a Reply

